Instrumental music News
Feedback welcome!

Sonata Quinta 3 o 4 Istromenti (Isabella Leonarda, 1693)

This sonata from Leonarda's only instrumental publication ("Sonate 1.2.3.e4. Istromenti", 1693) is originally meant for two violins and basso continuo, but the ambitus makes it perfectly suitable for alto recorders as well. There is a separate bass ("Violone") part that deviates slightly from the continuo part, which can optionally be omitted.

This editions is based on facsimile copies of the original partbooks, of which an extant copy is now kept in the Civico Museo Bibliografico Musicale in Bologna (AA. 193).


Sonata V del op. 16 (eight a4 pages, 232kB)

Other Editions of the same music

A facsimile reprint of Leonarda's entire opus 16 is available Dr. Bernd C. Becker (Cologne, Germany).